Juice Fast Update: Days 9, 10, 11, & 12

I haven’t posted an update for a few days because life got busy. Crazy busy.

All good stuff. There is something about being on the go that makes me feel accomplished, even if the only thing I am accomplishing is keeping the house clean (as opposed to letting it getting messy and then cleaning it a few times a week), getting some form of physical activity each day, and completing my work to-do list by the end of the day.

The fast has calmed my anxieties, focused my direction, and somehow I’m finding the energy to get it all done. It’s making me realize that my normally frantic life is not about not having the time…it’s about not having the energy.

Now that I have the energy, life is so less overwhelming.

And it doesn’t make sense at all. I mean, I’m consuming less than 1200 calories a day. I’m not eating. Yet, I wake up ready to go and I am able to get through the day without wanting to bury my head in the sand or cover my ears and scream until it all stops.

I’m less obsessed about the appearance of my house and myself. No time to straighten my hair? No problem, ponytail it is. No time to scrub the floors like an OCD sufferer on crack? No problem, I live here and anyone who comes to my house will just have to deal with.

I’m also healing quickly. Freakishly quickly. I swear, it’s like I have found the fountain of youth or something. One unfortunate side effect of this cleanse is that the body will us whatever means necessary to purge unwanted toxins. One of those methods is through the pores, so I’m experiencing some acne. Fortunately, those micronutrients I’m flooding my body with are going to work. I see improvements in each breakout within hours, and it only takes a few days for it to go away entirely.

My nails are growing so fast I can’t keep up. My cat scratched my arm up while I was trying to get her in her carrier to take her to the vet. Most of the scratches are already healed or well on their way.

Yesterday I fell during a hike and hit my knee on a rock (go me!). I’m still in a lot of pain and I can’t put much weight on it, but I’ve hurt my knee a few times before in similar ways, and I’ve never had this much progress in such a short time. I’m seeing improvements by the hour.

I’m finding that the longer I stay on this fast the more committed I am to it. Last night, after I hurt my knee, I wanted pizza. Badly. I was practically salivating at the thought of it. And if I ever had an excuse to give in, this was it. I wanted comfort food, and I was hurting so I earned it. It would have been totally justified. But it wasn’t worth it. So my man (let’s call him M) and I had juice while I iced my knee.

My only complaint is that I’m not seeing the weight loss I had hoped to see. That may be because my monthly…um…friend…decided to visit a week early, but that’s over now and I’m still fat. M says I seem thinner when he hugs me, but I don’t feel thinner and my clothes are fitting the same. So if I am thinner, my body is still holding onto the weight around the middle, butt and thighs.

I’m a little bummed that this fast already almost half over. I had hoped to drop 30 pounds in 30 days, maybe gain 10 back when I start eating normally again, and then be well on my way to losing 20 more and being at my goal. Granted, I’m not weighing myself, so I’ll never really know the numbers.

And despite the weight loss, or lack thereof, I can see the benefits of this fast by how I feel and how I’m healing.

To end this post, I just want to share my new favorite juice recipe. It’s amazing.

1 papaya

2 Bartlett pears

3 inches sweet potato

It’s sweet, creamy, carotene goodness 😀

3 thoughts on “Juice Fast Update: Days 9, 10, 11, & 12

  1. I read this, “It’s making me realize that my normally frantic life is not about not having the time…it’s about not having the energy” and I promise you that I had this same thought last night. While cooking three different meals for the week and pre-bagging breakfast, I was thinking over my day and realized that I had energy for all of it! I even jarred my dinners, unloaded the dishwasher, and reloaded it with all of my pots and pans. I couldn’t believe it.

    My Daniel Fast wrapped up Saturday night, and I was so eager to jump on the scale. It registered a 2lb loss. Two pounds! I allowed myself to feel upset about it yesterday, but today I got to see reality. I have to tighten my belt a notch now, I can button my blazer all the way around, there’s a little extra room in the legs of my favorite work pants. So, today, I am happy about this and all of the other blessings the Lord gave me during my fast.

    Keep going, you are doing great!

    • Two pounds is still two pounds, and it sounds like you got a lot more than that out of your fast. Plus, you jump started your body’s metabolism and set it right so it can work more efficiently in the long run. Congrats!!!

      • You are SOOO right! And, I decided to remain vegan because I feel so good. In training for my second marathon, I have more energy speed and my recovery is faster than pre-Fast. I am so appreciative of that and the other blessings God opened my eyes to.

Leave a Reply

