Day 2

I can’t do anything halfway.

Seriously. It’s a sickness. I may need to find a support group.

Yesterday’s transition to a 30 day juice fast didn’t happen the way I planned. Aside from a few raw celery sticks in the morning, I just ended up going all in. There was good reason, of course. By the time I had my midday juice I started feeling the fuzziness that signals the start of detox. My brain got scattered, my stomach felt hollowed out, and I was fatigued, yet at the same time I experienced a sense of peace and purpose. I was on my way to pushing through the initial phase, and there was no way I was going to extend it any longer than necessary.

20150115_083221Today I’m still feeling scattered, and my head is aching. I can’t focus and the prospect of sitting at work for 8 hours is depressingly daunting. Normally I hole up during the first three days of a fast, and just sleep and watch Netflix. But my life has changed quite a bit since the last time I went on a true juice fast. It got fuller, which is a good thing, except there’s not much space left after work, kids, church, the boyfriend, friends, and trying to build my empire.

Don’t get me wrong, life is awesome lately, so no complaints. But here I am, with my mason jars of juice, wishing I could flop onto my desk and sleep.

Oh, and did I mention I can’t have coffee?!?! For 30 days?

Leave a Reply

