Thanksgivings

This Thanksgivitrustng I am grateful for a lot: Family, friends, a job that prepares me for more than I ever thought possible. A God who loves me no matter what and a godly man who reflects that love by encouraging, supporting me, and loving me. Even when I let him see some of my crazy.

I suppose my list is no different than hundreds of thousands of others being written today. It’s all pretty normal stuff.

But to me, normal is awesome.

There was a time I ached for normal. The past ten years have taken me on broken path paved with disappointment, loneliness, heartache and pain. Somewhere along the way I somehow learned to be grateful for it all, because as the dust settles I can see how every treacherous step contributed to this journey.

I am thankful for the people who left, because it made room for new people to come into the empty places they left behind and it makes the ones who stay that much more special.

I am thankful for new friends who speak life and truth into me. For new ministry opportunities that help me find purpose in a painful past, and the way God has woven these things together for His glory and my edification.

I am grateful for dreams that refuse to die, and the humbling experience of hard work that challenges my faith and motivations, and pushes me out of my comfort zone.

My prayer for each one of you is that you find peace this Thanksgiving Day, in whatever you are going through. Take comfort in knowing that every tear has a purpose and one day the laughter will make you so glad for every painful breath you had to take.

Leave a Reply

