Loving your limitations

Photo credit: dazedbelief.com

Our world is full of limitations. Sometimes I am barely aware of those limitations. There are days I feel as though the waters would part if I were to try to walk through the ocean, or better yet, I might just walk right over the water.

But more often I am completely, blatantly, obscenely aware of my limits.

To my bank account.

My time.

My energy.

My body.

All four are zapping me at the moment, simultaneously. Extra bills I didn’t count on, a work project that is doubling my time spent at work, and the resulting energy drain that comes from all of that. I tried to combat the stress by working out, but I stupidly tried to do too much too fast (there I go again with the all or nothing mentality) and thanks to my degenerative nerve condition it sent me to bed writhing in pain and exhaustion. Have you ever been so tired you were unable to sleep?

So deplete of physical and mental resources you were unable to function as a normal human being?

As I laid in bed at two in the morning, my body in so much pain even my skin hurt, and with anxious thoughts swirling in my brain, I remember what Jesus said about the rich man:

“I’ll say it again–it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich person to enter the Kingdom of God!” (Matthew 19:24, NLT)

Jesus is not saying that rich people can’t be saved. What he is saying is that the man who puts all his faith in material possessions, instead of Jesus, will never be able to make it to heaven. “Rich” can mean rich in money, but it can also mean rich in time, energy, or any other resource that takes away our reliance on God. Those who are “rich” are self-sufficient.

This morning I had to ask God to give me the physical strength to stand, as well as the mental strength to endure the stress my day promised to bring.

Self-sufficiency is valued in our culture. The Secular Humanism Movement has declared that not only do we not need God in our daily lives, our very beings didn’t even require God to come to be. The problem with this mentality is that the self-sufficient man or woman is actually very limited, despite what the humanistic propaganda would have us believe.

The rich man who values his money in place of God will see no greater riches than what he holds in this lifetime.

The woman who is rich in friendships may never know the value of being lonely and calling out to the omniscient, all-loving God of the universe.

When we are stripped of worldly possessions we are stripped of self-sufficiency. But in the process we are also stripped of our limitations and forced to tap into God’s infinite resources.

“Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.” (Ephesians 3:20, NLT)

If you are in a place of despair, desolation or loneliness, you are in the perfect position of being blessed. Get on your knees and look up to our amazing God. He is not a magic genie; he will not poof a million dollars on your doorstep, nor can he magically grant you more hours in the day. But if he doesn’t change the circumstances of your situation, he will change your perspective of the situation.

And that, my friends, is where the true magic is found. There is nothing more profound than watching God change a person’s heart, and then seeing doors open, which the person never even realized were there until God changed the lenses of their perspective.

Leave a Reply

