One drop

I woke up this morning feeling happier than I’ve felt in more than a week.

Lately I’ve been in a fog and more irritable than usual. After some strange behaviors from my cats – howling at nothing, tails puffed out for apparently no reason – along with some other bizarre happenings, I’ve begun to think there might be some spiritual battles going on.

The timing is right for it. Nothing ticks the enemy off more than when God’s children are happy on the narrow path.

My first book is being released exactly three months from today.

I finally walked away from a bad relationship that had begun to pull me away from God.

I’m leading a ministry at my church. The first lesson/discussion I led was 7 years to the day after receiving my official calling into ministry. I am so grateful for that confirmation (there are no coincidences with God), because other than the weird foggy feeling, I’ve also faced other opposition as a result of this endeavor.

If my walk with God has taught me anything, it’s that following God’s path will paint a bright red target on your back. But the Book of James reminds us:

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. (James 1:2-4)

There will be trials in this world, but God uses these things to mature us and grow our faith. A spoiled child never learns anything.

Besides that, if the devil is bugging you, you must be bugging him. So consider it confirmation that you are onto something, and trust that God would always draw a line that the enemy won’t be able to cross. Remember the conversation God had with Satan regarding Job:

The LORD said to Satan, “Very well, then, everything he has is in your power, but on the man himself do not lay a finger.” Then Satan went out from the presence of the LORD. (Job 1:12)

God places limits on the enemy. Don’t forget that the enemy has already been overcome! And when Job’s testing was complete, God returned tenfold what had been taken from him.

Whatever you may be facing today, whatever trials and opposition block your path, trust God and revel in the little miracles and blessings you are sure to encounter if you pay attention. One drop of faith can send never-ending ripples into the darkness. And your perseverance through the darkness will multiply your one drop of faith into an entire bucket. If one drop sends ripples, imagine what a bucketful can do!

 

Leave a Reply

