Bad days

Today has been one of those days.

It started just a little off. Like I was walking a second or two out of sync with the rest of the world.

Source: healthtap.com

I couldn’t get into worship at church. I was a bit anti-social with friends.

And then I went to the car wash and, while waiting for my car (inside!) I was attacked by an angry horde of black ants. So I went outside to wait in the 110 degree heat for about half an hour. Safer from bugs out there. Go figure. I guess they hate the heat, too. Trust me, thirty minutes feels like an eternity when it’s that hot out. And seriously, how long does it take to wipe down a car and Windex the windows? It’s a teeny tiny Honda Civic for crying out loud.

Okay. By this point I’m thinking PMS might have a bit to do with my mood. Plus my toes are itchy. I hate that.

I finally get my car back and not only does it have water spots all over it, whomever drove it last dripped their disgusting sweat all over the seat and steering wheel. I get that it’s hot out, but still, gross.

I finally get home, hot, exhausted and wanting to scream into a pillow. Yep. Definitely PMS.

I decide I’m going to do a workout video to shake off the hormones and stress. YouTube on the Wii refused to work. Finally got it working and started my workout, except it kept pausing to buffer every few minutes. So I’m bouncing around like an idiot in the living room to keep my heart rate up while the thing buffers. After about ten minutes I gave up and got my laptop. But since my house’s air conditioning is wimpy – and honestly, I have to give it some slack…poor thing works hard in this Arizona heat – the noise from the four fans in my living room made it impossible for me to hear the sound from the laptop speakers.

Of course, my plug-in speaker (which is awesome) is no where to be found.

And the touch screen on my laptop decided to freeze up (Windows 8…grrrr)

Source: askipedia.com

By now I’m emotionally spent and thinking I should take this as a sign that I shouldn’t work out today. But if I didn’t work out I was going to maim somebody. I finally went into my bedroom, where it was cooler and quieter, and finished the workout. I even tried to finish it up with yoga and meditation, but I was beyond annoyed by this point, so there was just no relaxing.

The day did not get better. Here’s a quick summary of the rest of my day:

  • I burned dinner
  • Tried to Download Microsoft Office 365, had to call tech support and go through a gazillion hurdles (again, Windows 8…grrrrrrrr)
  • Tried to upload a reformatted version of my novel to CreateSpace, and ten minutes later its STILL uploading (thus the reason I’m on here venting so I don’t throw my computer out the window)
  •  Just got an error message on CreateSpace telling me it could not read my file. So much for Office 365 being easy to use.

Still, in the midst of this storm I have to chuckle a bit. After all, it’s not all that bad.

Things could certainly be worse and I find that these little irritations remind me of how blessed I am in the bigger scheme of things. Secondly, today we talked about stress in my small group Bible study, and it reminds me that God knows what we need when we need it, and he often presents reminders and encouragement even before we realize the need. That is how awesome our God is, which puts things in perspective. And throughout my stressful, frustrating day I kept thinking of the verses we discussed at church today:

“This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” (Nehemiah 8:10b)

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7)

“And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?” (Matthew 6:30)

So as my evening winds down from a difficult day I am reminded of God’s love and provisions. I am grateful for his promises and blessings. And I am even a little grateful for this terrible day, because it allowed me to see God in the midst of my little storms. Through this I am reassured in knowing he will also be there in the bigger storms, and thank God today wasn’t one of them.

Leave a Reply

