A hungry heart

This morning I was driving to work and having a conversation with God. Actually, it was more like whining, worrying and agonizing.

So I turned on the radio to shut myself up.

And God showed up.

The moment the radio flipped on, the DJ read the daily Proverb:

“There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death. The laborer’s appetite works for him; his hunger drives him on. (Proverbs 16:25-26)

Have you ever had those moments where you look up to heaven with this sort of expression:

“I see what you did there.”

Well that was me this morning. You see, I had been agonizing over my ability to sell my book, which is scheduled for release in late January. Without validation from a major publisher, and since I can’t seem to gather very many followers for my blog or Twitter (at least not as many as “they” say I should have), I feel lost in the crowd.

I am a voice in a sea of screaming people and I fear no one hears me.

Because I’m not doing it the “right” way. I don’t have the backing of a major publisher. I don’t have 10,000 Twitter followers. I consider 20 hits in one day on my blog to be a good day.

But this proverb reminded me of two important truths:

1) God is not limited by the things that limit the world. God’s ways are not the world’s ways. In fact, his was are better. And if God wanted me to have 10,000 Twitter followers or 1,000 hits a day on my blog, if that’s the way he decided to work in this situation, I would have them.

2) A hungry heart seeks sustenance, and a hard-won victory makes you cherish every tiny little accomplishment along the way. I want to be hungry, keep striving, keep reaching. Where is the reward if all of this were handed to me without the trials? Besides that, I want my journey to matter, not only to myself, but to those I’m trying to reach. How can I teach others to carry on through their brokenness, and to find victory through the failures, if my journey toward delivering that message is any less of a struggle?

So friends, today I urge you to love your hungry heart. Be glad for it. And trust that God rewards those who diligently strive to live out the purpose He has placed in their lives. When the way is hard, trust that the blessings are coming; a far greater reward than anything this world may offer.

“Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.” (James 1:12)

2 thoughts on “A hungry heart

    • Yes sir! There is definitely some truth to that saying. I often say that God is show off, working behind the closed curtain, so that his glory can be magnified when the curtain raises. Otherwise, we are apt to pat ourselves on the back, rather than give Him the credit. He does give us a peek on his progress now and again, if we look for it 😉

Leave a Reply

