Why we can still be friends, even if I’m a homeopathic-loving vegan Christian and you’re not

It’s not easy being a homeopathic-loving vegan Christian in today’s society. As if I needed another reason to dampen my social life.

Most people think I’m weird, into voodoo magic and/or they just assume that I’m going to be judgmental to anyone who eats meat, or takes pills, or is an atheist/agnostic/homosexual/etc.

Okay, so here it is, once and for all…a little soliloquy to those who judge me by assuming I’m going to judge them:

arguing

When God called Christians to stand up for their faith, I don’t think this is what He had in mind.
Photo courtesy of wirelessforums.org

If you don’t love/like/believe in God…That’s okay. We can still be friends. I didn’t love Him either for a long time, so I know where you’re coming from. I’m still going to tell you He loves you. Because He does. And if I ever have to choose between God and you, I’ll choose God. So don’t make me choose, respect my beliefs, and I’ll promise not to hit you over the head with my Bible.  If you’re gay…Do I agree with that lifestyle? No. Do I secretly hate you for your choices? Nope. Will I still be your friend? As long as you’re nice to me and we share similar interests, your sexual orientation is not on my list of conditions for friendship. Some of my best friends have been gay. God is love, and if I judge you for your choices I wouldn’t be representing God very well. I’d also have to judge myself. The beauty of Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross is that the moment we accept Him every sin is washed away. He works on our hearts and in our lives, which is different story. But that’s between you and Him.

Photo courtesy of choosingraw.com

If you’re a disgusting, animal murdering carnivore…Haha just kidding…You eat meat. Do I think you are a disgusting, animal murdering carnivore? Nope. I’m vegan because I researched and discovered the health benefits. It works for me, and I happen to like tofu and kale smoothies. I also cheat once in a while, so if you are going to a steakhouse, you can still invite me and I’ll probably come with you – if I like you 😉 I’ll either cheat and indulge in a big juicy steak or I’ll get a salad. The food’s not the point anyway. If you promise not to judge me, I promise not to judge you. Nor will I lecture you when you sink your teeth into those ribs. But I might share the benefits of the research I’ve done at other times, if it comes up. Tell me to shut up if you don’t want to hear it. That’s okay. We can still be friends.

homeopathy

Photo courtesy of famvets.com

If you take pills for depression/high blood pressure/etc…Do I think you’re a druggie? Nope. Will I lecture you on the benefits of homeopathy? Maybe. Homeopathy changed my life. It’d be rude to keep that all to myself, don’t you think? But I don’t have the energy to argue with people about the benefits of pharmaceutical meds over homeopathic herbal remedies. It’s almost as pointless as arguing over religion or politics. You can’t force a convert and I’ve discovered that people have very strong opinions one way or the other. That doesn’t mean I won’t share what it has done for me, or how it might help you. I might even slip you my homeopath’s card. And as long as you can put up with me saying stuff like “hey, coconut oil will help with that,” we can still be friends.

I will be posting a few blogs in the coming weeks/months about my experiences with homeopathy and veganism, and of course the center of this site is daily application of Christianity. I welcome your questions and debates, whether in real life or on this blog, and all I ask is that you respect my choices and I will respect yours. We might not agree, but that doesn’t mean we have to fight about it.

2 thoughts on “Why we can still be friends, even if I’m a homeopathic-loving vegan Christian and you’re not

  1. I went wheat-free a year ago for health reasons. It’s…..different. I miss pizza. Everything else, not so much, to my great surprise.

    I think I get your underlying point, though. The labels we put on ourselves can serve to separate us, when God really wants us just to all come together. Under Him, of course, but I also think that God’s call is irresistible when we take down the barriers that keep us from hearing it — and these labels can certainly be among those barriers.

    • Very well said, Jim!

      And that’s why I don’t label myself. I know this post is one big fat label – there’s even a picture of one! LOL – but it’s meant to be tongue-in-cheek. These labels are slapped on me through my actions, words and topics that come up in normal conversation. So in a sense maybe I am labeling myself, but the alternative would be to keep quiet and I will not (cannot) do that. If I order a veggie burger people ask questions, and I answer honestly. Same goes for my faith. Many assume that being vegan means I hang out outside Saks with a bucket of red paint, or that I’m automatically going to judge people for eating meat. And that being Christian means I’m judgmental. So silly.

      These are hot button topics because what we eat is very personal. Just like religion, our diets represent a certain kind of lifestyle and what a person stands for. But too often we are lost in sterotypes born out of ignorance and apathy.

      By the way, I don’t miss what I’m giving up, either. Also a great surprise to me! But pizza is my one thing that I miss most, too. {{sigh}}

Leave a Reply

